Sunday, November 28, 2021

The Achilles Heel - MacAndrew Road Relay Race 2011 (Report)

90 teams took part in this years MacAndrew Road Relay Race in dreadful weather conditions around Jordanhill andDerek Gibb Scotstoun.  Ronhill Cambuslang won the mens race with a time of 1:06.03 and Garscube Harriers were the winners of the womens race with a combined time of 59.38.

The winning Ronhill Cambuslang team included Andrew Coulter, Jack Kerr, Robert Gilroy and Stewart Orr.  Garscube Harriers winning team was Charlotte Wilson, Kirsty Husband and Katie White.

VP-Glasgow were 2nd in both the mens and womens races.  The mens team of Sean Fontana, Derek Gibb, Max Ralston and Ethan Sloan-Dennison finished in a time of 1:07.12 and the womens team of Louise Warren, Aisling McGhee and Claire McCracken finished in a time of 1:01.2.

The full results are
available at this link.  A couple of changes were made at 1500 hrs on the 2nd as a result of data entry errors on the day.

Thanks to the 25 officials who gave up their time to assist with a variety of duties, the 30 plus Marshals who remained at their posts until the last athlete was safely home and our members who served the tea and cakes in the refectory.

Special thanks to Katie Alexander of Achilles Heel for once again supporting the event and Julie and Gordon McGhee for the supply of cakes and buns.  We're also very grateful to Ron Hunter for creating a new spreadsheet which made recording of the results an easier and faster process.